Join the Beta Team!

Posted on 6 Aug 10 by Chris Boyd

Great news: We’re putting the finishing touches on the 2.6 release of WordPress for iOS! As if that wasn’t exciting enough, we’ve got even more good news.

First, we’re creating our own Beta Team for the WordPress for iOS project. Members of the Beta Team will be able to test releases before we submit them to the App Store and report back on their experiences. This will help us catch and fix bugs proactively, rather than having to publish bugfix releases after the fact.

We need 30 iPhone/iPod Touch users and 30 iPad users. We’ve got a couple of rules:

  • You’ll need a WordPress.com account. We’ll be using a private WordPress.com blog to send you beta builds of the app.
  • Only one device per person, so if you have both an iPhone/iPod Touch and an iPad, please only sign up with one or the other.
  • We’ll need you to commit to participating as a beta user for an entire year, because Apple limits the number of devices you use for testing on a yearly basis.
  • We can’t change your device if you get a new one, so you’ll be stuck testing on the device you sign up with.
  • Most importantly, we really need you to use Trac to report any bugs or issues you happen to find.

If you’re interested in joining the Beta Team, just leave a comment on this post with the word “iPhone” or “iPad” and we’ll take the first 30 of each and add you to the Beta Team.

The other great news is that we’re starting a bugfix sprint! We’re going to try to resolve as many Trac tickets as we possibly can. So even if you’re not interested in joining the Beta Team, you can still help us out by submitting a new ticket here:

http://ios.trac.wordpress.org/

And just in time for Follow Friday, we’ve created a Twitter account for the project so we can stay better connected with our users. You can follow us here: http://twitter.com/wordpressios. Help us spread the word!

That’s it for now. We’re almost ready to publish the 2.6 release, so thanks again for being so patient!

Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

213 Responses to “Join the Beta Team!”

  1. Sutherland Boswell

    iPad

  2. Jane Wells

    iPad. I’m already a beta tester for iPhone.

  3. angelanoel

    iPhone

  4. Christopher Burgess

    iPhone & iPad!!!

  5. Zee

    iPhone por favor.

  6. Ipstenu

    I have an iPhone AND an iPad :) So which ever you need more.

  7. FlashingCursor

    iPad iPad iPad

  8. Tiago Sartor

    iPhone

  9. SuperPC

    Does iPod Touch count?

  10. Jeffrey

    iPhone !

  11. Matty

    iPhone, please. :)

  12. Brian Dusablon

    I’m in. I have an iPhone, and will be getting the iPad, and want to develop on both. I also use WordPress for nearly every website I develop.

  13. Jonathan Schellack

    aww looks like I’m number 31 with the iPhone. I can do iPad instead, if so ;-)

  14. Badbwoy

    Iphone 2g (3.1.2) & iphone 3g (4.0.1)

  15. SuperPC

    E-mail me if you guys at wordpress accept me for the beta testing.

  16. Alex Soto

    Iphone

  17. Adam Patterson

    Will an iPod Touch be accepted?

    I would love to join!

  18. SuperPC

    iPod Touch

  19. David Hathaway

    iPhone (and TRAC experience)

  20. Edwin

    IPAD – IPHONE – iWANT!

  21. Graham

    iPad and iPhone

  22. Jason

    iPad or iPhone

  23. Ken Jones

    I’ve got an iPhone 4 and regularly use the current WordPress app to draft blog posts for both wordpress.com and .org installs. Would love to test the new version and offer feedback on the development of new features to make it more useful than the limited version we have now.

  24. Chris Boyd

    Whoa. You guys are awesome! Tallying up the numbers now. Keep posting just in case. We won’t make a distinction between iPhone and iPod Touch, so post whichever.

  25. Milcah

    iPod Touch

  26. Roger White

    Cannot forget the oldies with iPhone 3G and 3GS.

    Looking forward to the release :-) .

  27. artoholicanonms

    Iphone 4, if seperate from other models

  28. Nick Starr

    iPad

  29. Caleb

    iPhone please

  30. Chris Boyd

    And we’re done! Thanks for commenting everyone! I will add the 30 iPhone/iPod Touch and 30 iPad users to the Beta Team blog shortly. If you don’t get in there you can still help us out immensely by filling out tickets in Trac.

    1. Jens

      Hi!
      I’ve forgotten to use my wordpress.com account to post my comment (since I was in a car – as a passenger). But I think you can see my wordpress.com account name now.

  31. Otto

    I’d love to get the beta, if only because the current released version crashes every time I try to set up my blog on it. Never have got the thing to work properly.

  32. Darnell Clayton

    iPhone!

    Is there any invites left? :-(

    And yes, I have a WP.com account!

  33. maggie

    iPhone 3G

  34. Marko Heijnen

    Hey Chris,

    I also want to join the Beta Team. I am an iPhone developer myself and I also joined the iPhone Developer Program.

    Regards,

    Marko

  35. WordPress Seeks Mobile Domination, Upgrading iPhone, Android And Blackberry Apps | The Blog Herald

    [...] First, we’re creating our own Beta Team for the WordPress for iOS project. Members of the Beta Team will be able to test releases before we submit them to the App Store and report back on their experiences. This will help us catch and fix bugs proactively, rather than having to publish bugfix releases after the fact. (Official iOS for WordPress Blog) [...]

  36. Dombard

    iPod Touch Second Gen 4.1 b 1

  37. Tilman Jentzsch

    iPad

  38. Jakob Rasmussen

    iPod touch 3rd generation iOS 4.0

  39. malcom k

    Ipod Touch

  40. Eder Goitia

    iphone :)

  41. Logan L.

    iPhone. Though the that list is full… I can do iPod Touch or iPad to if you need me too. :)

  42. WordPress Seeks Mobile Domination, Upgrading iPhone, Android And Blackberry Apps « Read NEWS

    [...] First, we’re creating our own Beta Team for the WordPress for iOS project. Members of the Beta Team will be able to test releases before we submit them to the App Store and report back on their experiences. This will help us catch and fix bugs proactively, rather than having to publish bugfix releases after the fact. (Official iOS for WordPress Blog) [...]

  43. Dave M.

    iPad. If it makes any kind of difference, I’m an unemployed QA engineer with plenty of time on my hands and post to several blogs on a daily basis.

  44. #121: Dicari, Beta Team untuk WordPress iOS iPhone Project | Deddy .ME

    [...] WordPress sedang mencari 30 orang pengguna iPhone dan 30 orang pengguna iPad untuk dijadikan tim Beta, sebuah tim yang akan menguji aplikasi WordPress untuk iOS iPhone Project. Berita lengkapnya bisa dilihat di “Join The Beta Team!“. [...]

  45. manmohanjit

    iPod Touch.

  46. Tonnie

    iphone dutch and englisch

  47. Ernie Smith

    iPad

  48. frankie D

    Iphone, but don’t try to call me. Iphones don’t get good reception unless climbing a cell tower!

  49. josey

    Looks like I might be too late, but iPhone for me if there’s still room.

  50. Justin

    I own multiple iPod iTouch’s (2nd and 3rd Gen), iPhone 3g and just got in stock the iPhone 4g’s and a few iPad’s which I have because I been wholesaling electronics for 10+ year’s and deal big in Apple and any laptop part.

    Regardless of where I am, I have wireless access, cell phone access and multiple hot spot services for testing. I mentioned it to fellow coworkers since we all got an iPhone after getting them for a insanely low price (did the full check and they are all legit, genuine USA models.

    I do have a few other iTouch 2G that were unlocked so multiple carrier testing wouldn’t be an issue. I feel its time to give back something to wordpress since it’s given me so much.

    Thanks for your time.

  51. Martin

    also iphone if still needed…

  52. Chris Boyd

    Everyone who made it onto the team (first-come, first-served) should have received an email by now. So by the end of Monday I’ll start going down the list to fill the slots for people I haven’t heard back from. There’s still a chance you can get in there!

    Be sure to check the email address that’s associated with the WordPress.com account that you used to leave the comment. If you don’t have access or think you were in the top 30 for either category but didn’t receive an email, follow @WordPressiOS on Twitter and send us a a reply or DM.

  53. Simon Barron

    Ill signup if you have any mre spaces left

  54. Joseph McLean

    *coughs
    HTC actually but I’m optimistically thinking forward.

    http://thetruejoe90.wordpress.com
    My old blog I now use as a doorway to my self-hosted site.

    My blog is built on the WordPress platform.

    And I love it!

  55. Top Posts — WordPress.com

    [...] Join the Beta Team! Great news: We’re putting the finishing touches on the 2.6 release of WordPress for iOS! As if that wasn’t [...] [...]

  56. Laura Washington

    iPodTouch if you still need Beta team members

  57. Kimberley

    iPhone user here….mlearning is my project area for my masters :D

  58. miles decoster

    I teach web design at Kutztown University and we specifically use WordPress in advanced web class.

  59. John Carroll

    I would like to participate.

  60. @Brian_Henderson

    iPhone, iPad!

  61. Scott Daugherty

    How do I get involved in the project to help with coding/testing? I would enjoy participating.

  62. Anthony DiSpezio

    iPad

    I work for a print publication that is expanding their web presence. I’m interested to experiment with web publishing and editorial work flow on the iPad.

  63. justckr

    iPad or iPhone if all the iPad places are taken. :)

  64. Huey

    IPad using Chinese characters for input.

    I know this has issues before, not sure if 2.6 will fix, but will be happy to beta test/develope any fixes.

    -Huey

  65. shawn

    iphone or ipad, own both

  66. WordPress for iOS need Beta Team... Are you ready to join? | Wordpress How To's | Customizations | Tips | Themes | Plugins | Hosting | Books

    [...] to report any bugs or issues you happen to find.For more information visit the official blog post Join the Beta Team!If you liked this article, you may also like:WordPress for Android is looking for youThesis Theme [...]

  67. Hannah

    iPod Touch OR iPad :)

  68. Alex

    I am an iPhone adict, can’t seem to be able to put it down!
    Please sign me up I would provide great feedback!

  69. jTherese Burns

    iPhone

  70. johanlavenius

    iPad

  71. Beta Team Being Established For WordPress iOS

    [...] 2.6 is almost ready to be released Chris Boyd announced that the iOS team is putting together a beta team for the project. Team members will receive releases before they reach the public’s hands for [...]

  72. BIEG

    I’ll do the iPad please :)

  73. David Speakman

    Please make it work well with the iPad – and not just a blown-up version of the iPhone App. WP on the iPad sucks bad now.

    1. David Speakman

      BTW – I’d be willing to help you beta. I have iPhone 3G and an iPad 64GB WiFi w/keyboard dock – if you’re interested in seeing how it will be used with people serious enough to have a keyboard as input device on their iPad.

  74. charlesstricklin

    iPhone 3GS running iOS v4.01, if you decide to add more beta testers.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,142 other followers

