Version 3.5 is Here: Draft Previews, Autosave, and More

Posted on 22 Feb 13 by Dan Roundhill

Version 3.5 of WordPress for iOS: Draft Previews + AutosaveWe’re pleased as punch to announce that WordPress for iOS 3.5 is now available in the App Store. The dev team focused on the content editor for this release, which adds some very handy new features:

Draft previews

We know that publishing your very best stuff is important, and you should be able to see what your post or page will look like before you publish. Now, in version 3.5 of WordPress for iOS, you can preview your drafts! Just tap the preview “eye” tab while drafting your post or page to see the post as it will appear on your WordPress site after you hit publish.

If you have a responsive WordPress theme the preview will show what your post looks like on a mobile device.

Autosave

Thanks to a new Autosave feature, your site’s content is safer than ever before. Now, when you edit a draft in the app, you’ll notice a small “Autosaved ✓” message appear as you type. The draft is instantly saved locally, and if you have a reliable Internet connection at the time, it will autosave online to your WordPress site, too.

Version 3.5 of WordPress for iOS: Autosave

More improvements and bug fixes

This release also includes improvements for WordPress.com and Jetpack notifications, as well as fixes for crashes and other bugs. You can check out all the changes here.

The crash on launch that some of you were seeing has been fixed in this release.

What’s next?

We want to continue making your mobile blogging experience better and better! While the dev team is currently deciding what to work on for version 3.6, these next items are high on our list:

  • Rich Text Editor
  • Improved media management
  • Sharing to the app from third-party apps and services

Want to keep up with the latest happenings in the WordPress mobile world? Head over to http://make.wordpress.org/mobile.

A huge thanks to the contributors that worked on this release: beaucollins, daniloercoli, koke, and mrroundhill.

If you have any feedback about the app, please leave a comment below or follow us @WordPressiOS.

Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 Responses to “Version 3.5 is Here: Draft Previews, Autosave, and More”

  1. Pastor Keith

    I have an iPhone 4 and updated my app today. It now does not work at all. I have a blank screen with a photo button and a settings button, both of which do absolutely nothing. It was a very handy app until today. I sure hope you are able to fix it soon. I miss it.

  2. Pastor Keith

    I went to the Twitter discussion and saw the suggestion to swipe the gray bar at the top and that fixed it. How was I supposed to know that I needed to swipe the gray bar? Anyway, it all works now, and I’m pleased.

    1. Dan

      You’re not supposed to have to do that, it’s a bug :( We’ve already got it fixed though and will submit an update to Apple soon!

  3. diaryofanadhdmum

    Mine is stuck on a screen and won’t let me access anything. I’ve deleted and reinstalled, but still not working. Please help!

    1. Marie-Anne

      The same thing is happening to me :(

      1. Dan

        Did you guys try swiping the grey bar at the top?

        1. Marie-Anne

          Yup, nothing worked. With the newest version it works now.

  4. ajedrezweb

    “Slide to unlock”.
    Well, at least now I can manage my comments untill the fix comes out.

  5. xzackly

    Trying to register for the forum here but the system appears to be broken? No emails received, nothing in spam.

    Notifications were working. I had to replace my phone and now notifications aren’t working. It’s all turned on and I’m properly registered. I’ve erased and reinstalled the app. Still no love. Suggestions?

    1. Dan

      Forum registration does appear to be broken, thanks for letting us know. I’m sending you an email so we can troubleshoot your issue.

  6. Mike

    i was wondering if 3.5.2 update will fix the landscape posting ability on an IPAD.

  7. Dawn Roberts

    I’ve been trying to log in to the forums, but it is not working ? My pages are not showing up in my phone app all of a sudden. They were there this morning, and I edited one. Saved it & when I go to the net, updates are there as well as all my pages. Any advice on how to get my pages to show back up on my phone app? I do not have access to computer desktop very often, so most editing needs to happen on my phone. Thanks! :)

  8. egypturnash

    I really hate the autosave. If I write a post that fills the whole screen, then the “Autosaving…” note is constantly covering the words I’m typing. It’s maddening. And then when I look at the history of my posts in the WP dashboard, there’s several hundred versions in rapid succession.

    Can we get a switch to turn the damn thing off? Or maybe put the current draft in a file on my device, instead of saving it to my blog every three seconds?

    1. sobrikay

      seconded… i feel like the autocorrect is constantly suggesting “auto-saving” to everything i type… really distracting. i’ve tried various ways to limit autosaving on the blog to see if they convince the app to relax and no dice.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,147 other followers

