WordPress is Now Ready for iOS 7

Posted on 18 Sep 13 by Jorge Bernal

Apple is releasing iOS 7 today, and for the past few months we’ve worked on an update that goes great with it.

announcement-ios7-02

Quoting Hugo Baeta, who has been leading the design aspects of this release:

The app now uses the Open Sans typeface, the open-source font that works so well on WordPress.com. We also updated all the colors, bringing a brighter, fresher feel to the app experience. (And while we were at it, we fixed a few pesky bugs.) We think you’ll find the new app experience cheerful, consistent, and intuitive.

Grab the new version on the App Store!
Compatible with iOS 6+

What’s next?

We wanted to focus this release on iOS 7 only, but we have a few other improvements coming up: a new theme selector, better media management, and visual editor, as well as other improvements to existing features, including a refresh of the iPad version.

WordPress for iOS App Icon Fall 2013

The new app icon

A huge thanks to the eight contributors who worked on this release: @hugobaeta, @sendhil, @koke, @astralbodies, @irbrad, @h4xnoodle, @daniloercoli, and @isaackeyet.

If you would like to get involved with WordPress for iOS development, drop us a line at make.wordpress.org/mobile and grab a copy of the code at github.com/wordpress-mobile/WordPress-iOS.

Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

82 Responses to “WordPress is Now Ready for iOS 7”

  1. Aaron Douglas

    Reblogged this on The Dangling Pointer and commented:

    And our hard work for the past couple of months is now out for free looks :)

  2. edwardmartiniii

    Very pretty, but the “View Admin” bug still exists.

    Every time you click “View Admin,” it opens a browser.

    1. Koke

      It’s not a bug, it’s that way by choice. We found embedding the whole web admin inside the app was confusing for many users.

      We are evaluating other ways to give power users that feature without confusing the rest, but meanwhile we send you to safari.

      The improvements on iOS 7 keychain should help: Safari syncs passwords between OSX and iOS devices.

  3. The WordPress mobile app is ready for iOS7 : Post Status

    […] WordPress Mobile team has been working hard to get the WordPress iOS app ready for iOS7, which is to be released today. Design was led by Hugo Baeta, but eight contributors took part in […]

  4. User with a question

    Is it correct, that it does not longer work on self-hosted wordpress? There is no way to proceed without a registration.

    1. Koke

      No, it should be working for self hosted. What error are you getting?

  5. User with a question

    No error. This is embarassing, but I cannot skip the three intro pages “Welcome”, “Sign in” or “Create an account”. Your help is greatly appreciated.

    1. Koke

      If you tap on Sign In, it should lead you to a login form.

  6. Charles F-M

    Go to write a post. Go to add a category. Then what? I’m stuck in this screen.

    1. Koke

      Sorry about that, we have a fix ready for the next release. Meanwhile you can set categories from the post settings (the tab with the gear icon)

  7. markoliverreally

    Has it been fixed that Video from iPhone posted to a self hosted wordpress site work/play in Firefox and IE browsers? The .mov files appear as grey boxes there.

    I’ve tried VideoPress, but found out after it was too late (I paid) that it only works with WordPress.com blogs. (Applied and still waiting for a refund).

    thanks

    1. Koke

      Sorry, but it’s still hard to find a solution that will work across all browsers. For now I’d recommend using Youtube or vimeo for video hosting.

  8. Blogging on the go just got easier and more fun: Introducing WordPress for iOS 7 — Blog — WordPress.com

    […] platforms in the Mobile apps page on WordPress.org. You can read more about the update over on the WordPress for iOS Blog. If you are a mobile developer, all our apps are open source; check out the development blog to […]

  9. Markus

    Since the update to iOS 7 I can not connect to my self-hosted WordPress blog that uses a self-signed certificate. It spins at “Authorizing…” forever. Changing the protocol to http works, but is not really a fix.

    1. Koke

      Thanks for the warning, we’ll get it fixed

    2. Koke

      Thanks for the warning, we’ll get it fixed

    3. donc639

      I have the same Problem :(

  10. solaner

    There are still some “bugs” inside the reader.
    1. A few weeks ago after an update the reader lacks ignoring the “read more” tag in a blog post as before and I’m unable to read the complete post inside the ios reader. I have to click on the “read more” link to load the complete site. That is anoying and forces me quite often to skip reading the whole post.
    2. when loading a whole page, like describes above, I’m unable to ‘like’ it. Instead I have to login to that site or go back to the small preview. That’s anoying, too!

    Please give me an option to load a complete page in the wordpress reader again!

    My guess was, this anoying behaviour was because of changes necessary for ios7. But after updating my device, it’s still the same!

    1. Koke

      That should happen for posts that are not hosted on WordPress.com, are you following any of those? If not, can you give us an example of a blog that shows that?

      1. solaner

        That might be, but why does it happens suddenly after an update and not earlier?
        How can I recognize a selfhosted blog, since wordpress.com also allows custom domains?

        1. solaner

          before that certain update I was able to read all subscribed blogs in the reader without having to leave it and I also was able to smoothly like or comment on every post I wanted to regardless if a blog ist hosted on wordpress.com or selfhosted (there are some I already knew before)

  11. Tsvetan

    i have problem :( the application can’t connected to my site… Can anyone help me?

    1. Koke

      Does it give you a specific error message?

      1. Tsvetan

        “This is the massage: “Sorry, we can’t log you in”

        Unable to find a WordPress site at that URL”
        :(

      2. Franky

        I have exactly the same Problem after install iOS7 and the last Update from WordPress App. First one I have “Network error” Message and after de- and reinstall the App I cannot login anymore. Error message “cannot find a WordPress Blog under the URL”

  12. jklovelacen

    Each time I post something, although I verify that I set it to Public, the post becomes password protected when published. I have to go back in and set it to Public again for anyone to be able to see it. Also, if I save a post as a draft and then try to publish it, it won’t publish and maintains Draft status. I am running iOS7 and the latest updated WP app. Any help would be appreciated.

    1. Koke

      The app seems to not notice the change of status until the posts are refreshed, we’ll look into that.

      Can you visit your site after posting and verify if they are actually published?

      1. Lee

        I have the same problem. And they are not published. I have to go to my computer and access there to publish.

    2. Alexander M J

      I have the same problem! :-(

      1. jesscw

        My posts won’t change from draft to published either! It’s driving me insane! Please help!

    3. pinkandorangeindca

      I am getting the same thing! It is SO annoying as all of my readers who get posts through email can’t access them because it says they are password protected! How can that be fixed?

    4. Mihow

      Same here. Super frustrating.

  13. Jim

    Yeah, I’m iO7 and iPhone 4S and I cannot login to this new app. Jet pack isn’t recognizing my username or password. Glad to see these comments.

  14. TIna

    I had to uninstall/reinstall the WP app from my iphone because I changed the username on one of my blogs and it wouldn’t let me edit on the edit blog screen. Only allows me to edit the password, not the username. :(

    So I thought this would fix it but now it won’t let me log in! I reinstalled fresh WP app on my phone, created the login, and it keeps timing out saying it is unable to find a WordPress site at that URL??? WHAAAAAT???? I’m ready to throw my phone against a wall, I’ve been wrestling with this all friggin morning! The URL is correct, the username is correct, the password is correct….WHY won’t it work???

  15. TIna

    OK, nevermind….now it works. I finally thought to put www on the URL. It shouldn’t need that, though but that made it finally work. FINALLY!!

  16. Scott D. Southard

    I can’t get it to bring up the stats screen. I tried re-installing it a few times since I upgraded to ios 7 on my iphone 4.5 It gives me an authentication error, which is strange because I can bring up all of the other screens on the app, just not that one.

  17. Alexander M J

    I have the same problem as jklovelacen.

  18. Franky

    Hello all, I have also Login Problems with my self hosted WordPress Blog. The WordPress Version is 3.6.1 DE Edition. And I secure my Blog with a .htaccess file.
    After I install iOS7 and the latest WordPress App on my iPhone and iPad I have the error message “Network error”. After de- and reinstall the App I cannot login anymore. Error message “cannot find a WordPress Blog under this URL” (I translate this from German, I hope the error message in English it the same)
    Is the .htaccess file Protection a Problem with this Version?

    1. Koke

      Hi, what’s the URL of your blog? Do you have any “mobile site” plugins?

      1. Franky

        Hi, my URL: http://frankysfotografie.de
        No, I have no install a WordPress Plugin for mobile site. My WordPress Design is ready for responsive Design.
        My WordPress Plugins are: Jetpack, Google Analytics,Limit Login Attempts and some Gallery Plugins.

        1. anxiousadam

          howdy did you ever get a fix for your issue?

  19. fotograffer

    The app is useless on iPad with ios7. Crashes, freezes.

  20. Svante Axbacke

    What happened to the ability to work with comments in batches? Now I have my list of comments, I have to click on each comment, go in and do what I want to do, go back out to the list, then into the next comment, then out again, then in, we’ll, you get it. Very annoying if you have lots of comments pending, which we often have.

  21. Robert Curtis

    In the latest release up/down arrows on my Logitech keyboard are broken in WordPress; they don’t do anything. They still work fine in other apps like Notes.

    1. Koke

      Do they work ok on other non-Apple apps. There seems to be something wrong with text views on iOS7. We’re looking into it but it’ll probably require a fix from Apple

  22. Sebastian

    I’ve encountered a lot of bugs since the upgrade.
    These are the ones I rember, and that seriously ruin the experience.
    1: I can’t select a row with just a few characters on it, i have to put the marker just on the character on that line, otherwise it just keeps selecting the row above or below.
    2: I just edited a draft post that I started on my computer. when I went into the app the formating of the text was all messed up. And when I opened it back up on my computer the formating was ruined again, and the hyperlink i created in the App didn’t work it was just a ruined pice of code. Probably because of the broken formating.

  23. pinkandorangeindc

    I posted two blog posts from the new app and both became password protected somehow after posting even though I chose “public.” This never used to happen and that is very annoying as my readers who get the blog posts via email could not access them. What can be done to fix this? I cannot post from the app if it keeps putting on a password even though I did not want it.

    1. Koke

      We’re submitting a fix for that soon. Meanwhile, if you don’t put tags on a post it shouldn’t be password protected

  24. Anna

    Doesn’t work on self-hosted WP. Says there is no WP installation on that URL. But there is. Annoying.

    1. Koke

      Hi, what’s the URL of your blog? Many times that is caused by some plugin or mobile site creator.

  25. WordPress › Weekly dev chat summary for Sep 23, 2013 « Make WordPress Mobile

    […] update for iOS 7 was released and got some nice attention. There’s been some serious bugs and a bug fix (3.8.1) is already […]

  26. thecasualcraftlete

    I can’t seem to publish a post from my phone. I haven’t had any other issues except this! Thanks so much!

    1. Koke

      Does it just stay as a draft, or is it another error? If it’s the draft thing, we are submitting a fix for it soon.

  27. WordPress › Mobile Group Update for Sep 23, 2013 « Make.WordPress.Org Updates

    […] The new iOS 7 app is out with a clean new look inspired by […]

  28. sotlordrahl

    has anyone reported issues with uploading images via app post ios7 update? my posts are uploading, but the images are giving me an error when i try to upload.

    1. Koke

      Did you get any specific error message? Most of the times failed image uploads are due to your server running out of memory. Check out http://ios.forums.wordpress.org/topic/video-settings?replies=6 for instructions on how to increase the memory limit.

      1. brian

        i attach the picture and it just sits there and says “upload failed”, i can click it and it will attempt it again but fail again. as far as i know this was working until ios 7 update. i have requested both the web server be checked for space available and other users on android to attempt posts w/ images.

        1. Isaac Keyet

          Brian, is this still an issue? Please make sure to update to the latest version of the app, currently v 3.8.2.

    2. Isabela

      I can’t upload images as well. It appears uploading but never finish the process.

      Uploading: 0.0%

      1. Isaac Keyet

        Isabela, is this still an issue? Please let us know.

  29. Hans andersen

    I m using wp youtube gallery plugin and it’s been great. But now after ios 7 update on my ipad, this problem has occurred:

    The video widget only shows the video erratically – sometimes it’s visible, sometimes it’s not!

    I get a yellow background in the widget area instead of the video. But the video is there: if I click the yellow background it starts playing, only I can’t see it – only hear the audio.

    So I guess I can no longer trust this plugin to always show the video on Ipad.

    Any idea what’s wrong or what to do?

    1. Isaac Keyet

      Can you provide us with a bit more information around this in the forums, if you haven’t already? http://ios.forums.wordpress.org

  30. Mike Johnson

    Moderating comments is a step down from the previous version. Previously, on the comments screen, I could swipe left on the comment and the options for approve, trash, and spam would appear for me to select.

    Now, I have to click on the comment, and choose the action. Also, when deleting, I get the message “are you sure” and there is no way to disable this. This is brutal if you have 10-15 spam comments to delete.

    The previous swipe left function is sorely needed.

    1. Isaac Keyet

      The swiping toolbar probably won’t come back but we’re looking at ways we can better the flow. A simple thing would be to bring in the standard “Delete” option on swipe.

  31. Kerry

    Guys I now can’t get he app to load at all. Updated to iOS 7 yesterday (with the latest WP updates a few days ago), and opened it tonight, clicked on “reader” and it immediately shut. Now I can’t get it to open at all. Click the app, I get the blue welcome screen, and then it quits. Help! I rarely get to my lappy these days and do all my blogging from the iPad, so I need the app to actually work!

  32. saxisme

    Hi,

    are custom post types supported?
    Can’t see them in the app.

    Thank you

    1. Isaac Keyet

      No, custom post types are not supported (yet). Help us improve the app! http://make.wordpress.org/mobile

  33. thereichi

    what about camera+ support? … does not work anymore!

    1. Isaac Keyet

      Camera+ support was removed due to low usage.

  34. chendaddy (@chendaddy)

    Downloaded it, and the button switches in “OPEN” in the app store, but clicking on it does nothing. Tried searching for it on my iPhone (manually, since Spotlight Search still doesn’t work for me in iOS 7), and it’s not there. iOS 7 problem?

    1. Koke

      Sounds like an iOS7 bug. Have you tried restarting your phone?

  35. hulluna

    Cannot use WordPress on iPad for last two days. Had auto updates on, it started doing one and is still trying. It also won’t let me delete it and try and re-install. It’s just ‘waiting’ constantly. Completely unusable on my iPad and now causing me massive problems after 2 days, please help, thanks

    1. Isaac Keyet

      Sorry about that, but that’s an iOS 7 problem I’m afraid.

  36. May

    I can’t seem to change the password for my blog. All the info is correct but when I click save, I get this error message.

    “Sorry, Can’t login. Please update your credential and try again. ”

    Tried a few times and now I’m locked out of my desktop login for too many failed logins.

    Is this another bug?

  37. wim777

    Hello,

    Since recently I am unable to connect to my password protected family blog using this great app. It spins at “Authorizing..” forever. The moment I turn off basic authentication, it works again. I am sure this still worked around mid September, so something in the latest releases must have broken this support.

    Is this an issue that can be fixed? I would love to be able to use this app again..

    Many thanks.

    Wim

  38. sixtyninedegrees1

    we’re having a problem in that when we set a featured image it appears on the post page but not in the blog roll …. i can’t work out if its my theme or the app?

    any ideas?

  39. wim777

    In the later versions I am unable to access my family blog that is password protected using basic authentication. In the versions out early September this was for sure working. Something broke in the later versions. When I try to authenticate, it just stays spinning on “authenticating” forever.. Disabling basic authentication on my blog ‘fixes’ the problem.. So it must be the app..

    Is this a bug that is scheduled to be fixed? I hope so.. I miss the app.

  40. adam

    hello wonderful people,

    so I thought I would get the iPhone 5S as I miss the iphone and the wordpress app I previously had that would enable to post on my self hosted word press blog. So I get my new phone, download the app and try and connect and it just sits on ‘authenticating’. My self hosted site is running 3.6.1, and like ‘Franky’ i have a .htaccess fiel to secure my site. Every time I try and connect I just sits on authenticating. I have tried through testing, restoring default theme on my blog and disabling all plugins but to no avail. Very frustrating given this was one of the things I was hanging out for, does sound like the app didnt go through any real UAT so I’m hoping this can get resolved soon

    Help :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,141 other followers

